Winners of CPhI Pharma Awards revealed

The winners of the 2019 CPhI Pharma Awards, which aims to celebrate the industry’s top innovators, performers and outstanding achievements, have been announced.

The ‘CEO of the Year’ award has been bestowed upon Dr. Ge Li, Founder, Chairman and CEO of WuXi AppTec who was chosen for his significant contribution to the global biopharma R&D industry.

For the second time in three years, Cambrex was awarded the ‘API Development’ category for their Crystallisation Screening and Process Development Service. The service has bridged the gap between the bench and manufacturing plat, providing controlled, robust and scalable crystallisation processes.

John Chiminski, Chair and CEO at Catalent Pharma Solutions, won the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award for his accomplishments spanning more than three decades. These include the last 10 years at Catalent, during which time the company has become a true benchmark of advanced delivery technologies, development, and manufacturing solutions.

The ‘Formulation’ award was given to Nanoform for its controlled expansion of supercritical solutions (CESS). Spraying Systems Co. / Fluid Air Inc. were bestowed with the ‘Manufacturing Technology and Equipment’ award for their PolarDry – the Cooler Technology. Cited as the future of spray drying, it utilises electrostatic technology to prevent against API loss, degradation, and denaturalisation.

Univercells received the ‘Bioprocessing and Manufacturing’ award in recognition of its NevoLine Platform, which is a bioproduction system for vaccines. The ‘Regulatory Procedures and Compliance’ prize was given to Merck Healthcare KGaA for ‘Project SARA’ (Smart Assistant for Regulatory Affairs).

The ‘Analysis, Testing, and Quality Control’ category was claimed by MedPharm for pioneering the regulatory approval of topical products using in vitro bioequivalence. MedPharm is the first contract research organisation to gain regulatory approval using in vitro models to demonstrate the bioequivalence of a generic formulation compared to the originator.

SCHOTT Pharmaceutical Systems and W.L. Gore & Associates received the ‘Packaging’ award for its syriQ BioPure – a silicone-free syringe – whilst Hoffmann Neopac was highly commended for their STYLO Spatula applicator.

The winner of the ‘Pharma Service Company of the Year Award’ is Lonza Pharma & Biotech. The company is recognised for its integrated global services offering that spans the pharmaceutical, biotech, consumer health and specialty chemicals market.

In ‘Contract Services and Outsourcing’ Nanopharm – an Aptar pharma company – was selected as the winner for SmartTrack, with CMAC being highly commended for their CMAC National Facility. Finally, the award for ‘Drug Delivery and Devices’ was given to Phillips-Medisize for its Connected Health Platform, and the ‘Supply Chain, Logistics and Distribution’ category was given to Kemiex AG.

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our news site - please take a moment to read this important message:

As you know, our aim is to bring you, the reader, an editorially led news site but journalism costs money and we rely on advertising and digital revenues to help to support them.

With the Covid-19 lockdown having a major impact on our industry as a whole, the advertising revenues we normally receive, which helps us cover the cost of our journalists and this website, have been drastically affected.

As such we need your help. If you can support our news sites with a small donation of even £1, your generosity will help us weather the storm and continue in our quest to deliver quality journalism.

In the meantime may I wish you the very best.

- Advertisement -

Related news